Medicare open enrollment has begun! Learn all about it in AARP's guide to Medicare made easy.

Gold Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Re: Grey hair - embrace it or dye it?

Message 1 of 76

@AARPTeri wrote:

When do you decide to let it go grey?  There is a new trend for a grey ombre for younger people, which is funny since we all avoid the grey as we age.  When did you stop coloring or will you ever stop?

Share your story.

Well, as for me and for the time being, my dark hairs far outnumber the grey and I do not color my hair at all.  So I guess I'm embracing the dark hair for now.  But when the grey starts to overtake, I may decide to dry it to match.  

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 2 of 76

I'm not knocking anyone who chooses to dye their hair, it's a personal choice! 

I don't like beauty parlors, I'm not good at doing fancy things to my own hair, and as I have very few wrinkles though 4 days short of turning 70, I chose not to dye! 

My daughter and all her friends, male and female, dye their hair. ..so this is strictly my personal choice. 

If you feel better with dyed hair, go for it! 

Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 3 of 76

How wonderful for YOU!  But I perfer to continue to dye.  Thank you,

Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 4 of 76

Embrace it. After dying my hair for 20 years I decided to stop because I thought it would make me look older. I was so wrong. I enjoy my gray 

Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 5 of 76

Thank you was sent in error.

Kudos
Views
Silver Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 6 of 76

Well said LogicsHere!! Getting old isn't for sissies, but unfortuneately we all have different views and some are just mean about it. Gary.

Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 7 of 76