Treasured Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Re: Elizabeth Warren Buys The Native American Vote

Message 1 of 7

Did anyone else notice that the title of the thread changed from "Pocahontas" to "Elizabeth Warren"?

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Kudos
Views

Re: Elizabeth Warren Buys The Native American Vote

Message 2 of 7

Ok, so I will blow up the thread. I’m a lawyer. One of the most fundamental tenets of Amercian common law, adopted from British common law, is that there is no right without a remedy. That’s why people get millions in civil law suits. You can’t give them back their arm lost in a manufacturing incident. But you can give them cash.

I think Native Americans and African Americans (those descended from slavery) should get reparations.

If Warren said it was because of racism against Native Americans, I think she’s sugar coating it; it was full out Genocide. 

I would do a Universal Basic Income, $12,000 for adults and $4,000 a year for kids. Regardless of income.  This immediately lifts people out of poverty. (See 2019 Federal Poverty Guidelines). It helps people save for college, get a house, etc. and infuses spending money into the economy in a completely different and more effective way than tax cuts for the uber  wealthy.

All right, go freak out and tear it apart. 😉. 

Kudos
Views
Valued Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Elizabeth Warren Buys The Native American Vote

Message 3 of 7

Have we ever considered that America’s

first act of imminent domain was against the Native population that had lived off of this land for many, many years. And they didn’t get much in return, did they, when conquered and abused them.  They were killed or given land which had very little to offer them. Small wonder that they might hate the “white man”...

come to think of it, not much has changed, some white men are still taking advantage of others...with little to offer in return!