Honored Social Butterfly

Deep State Leakers - Expose My Lai Massacre

I am a Vietnam Veteran and a Proud American Patriot...................................everytime I hear Extremists talk about - "US Government Information Leakers" - and how they are all Anti-American & Traitors........................it makes the hair on my neck stand-up..................mostly because they have no idea what they are talking about and mostly just trying to stir-up trouble...................

In my mind it's not as simple as - Anyone Who Divulges US Government Information is Anti-American

Context & Intent are relevant............................and not every occurence falls under one umbrella here is one example

1. In one of the most horrific incidents of violence against civilians during the Vietnam War, a company of American soldiers brutally killed the majority of the population of the South Vietnamese hamlet of My Lai in March 1968. Though exact numbers remain unconfirmed, it is believed that as many as 500 people including women, children and the elderly were killed in the My Lai Massacre..

Higher-ranking U.S. Army officers managed to cover up the events of that day for a year before revelations by a soldier who had heard of the massacre sparked a wave of international outrage and led to a special investigation into the matter.

2. The coverup continued until Ron Ridenhour, a soldier in the 11th Brigade who had heard reports of the massacre but had not participated, began a campaign to bring the events to light. After writing letters to President Richard Nixon, the Pentagon, State Department, Joint Chiefs of Staff and several congressmen, with no response

Ridenhour finally gave an interview to the investigative journalist Seymour Hersh, who broke the story in November 1969.