AARP Members Enjoy Exclusive Discounts on Travel, Dining and More. Join Today

Treasured Social Butterfly

Re: Omeprazole - Another Health Insurance Rip-off

Message 1 of 4

@errolm10440
@sktn77a

Thanks for your replies - as I said I am on my wifes Employer Based - Cadillac Healthcare Plan - from BC/BS - No Cost - No Premiums and until recently No Insurmountable Problems except for this Omeprazole issue

Humana - No thanks

Supplemental - No Thanks - I'm on Medicare Part A not by Choice but because I have to be - I declined Part B until my wife retires.............................

I can tell you this - I'm not paying $50 for 60 pills that retail for 50 cents each - I'm a Veteran and I can get my Rx's through the VA - a 90 day supply will cost me about $20 but then they will just backcharge my wife's employer through BC/BS

A real Conundrum

( " Eat Tic Tacs - Grope Woman - Become President " ) " - Anonymous

Report Inappropriate Content
Bronze Conversationalist

Message 2 of 4

Consider a Medicare Part D plan.  You prescription will be $3.00 for 90 days as Omeprazole is a Tier 1 generic on most plans.  You will have to pay a monthly premium of about $40 a month (total - medicare part D premium plus plan premium).

Info Seeker

Message 3 of 4

i don't know what kind of insurance you have but i have been on omepazole 40 mg. for several years and pay zero copay with humana for a ninty day supply. if i get it at cvs i pay six dollars.

Treasured Social Butterfly

Omeprazole - Another Health Insurance Rip-off

Message 4 of 4

I'm 68 years old and have been taking Prescription Strength Omeprazole twice daily as a Non-Brand Name Generic for 25 years.

I'm also a spousal member on one of those so-called Cadillac Employer Provided Health-insurance plans administered through BC/BS of Massachusetts offered at no-cost from my wife's employer