Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Medicare for Veteran's.

I have been going exclusively to the VA. What should I sign up for? Do I really need the alphabet of medicare? Will parts of the medicare packages effect my VA coverage? I am a disabled veteran for hearing and have been receiving 100% of my medical services through the VA. What won't the VA cover if I do not sign up for medicare other than part A?

Thank you,

John

Kudos
Views
Replies
0 Kudos
Conversationalist

@JohnS417386 some of this reply will overlap the reply by @GailL1 and some will enhance what she posted. Put the two together and you should have a good picture of the way Medicare and VA benefits work.

If you have or can get both Medicare and Veterans’ benefits, you can get treatment under either program. Generally, Medicare and VA can’t pay for the same service or items. Medicare pays for Medicare-covered services or items. Veterans’ Affairs pays for VA-authorized services or items.

When you get health care, you must choose which benefits to use each time you see a doctor or get health care.

Note
To get the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) to pay for services, you must go to a VA facility or have the VA authorize services in a non-VA facility.

If the VA authorizes services in a non-VA hospital, but didn’t authorize all of the services you get during your hospital stay, then Medicare may pay for the Medicare-covered services the VA didn’t authorize.

For active-duty military enrolled in Medicare, TRICARE pays for Medicare-covered services or items, and Medicare pays second

For inactive-duty military, Medicare pays first for Medicare-covered services and TRICARE may pay second.

TRICARE pays first for services or items from a military hospital or any other federal provider

https://www.medicare.gov/supplements-other-insurance/how-medicare-works-with-other-insurance