Celebrate Social Security's birthday by pledging to vote to protect it for current and future generations. Learn more

Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Re: KanCare and Supplemental Insurance

Message 1 of 5

So glad for the feedback. I am new to this and clarification is so helpful. 

Many thanks!

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 2 of 5

Thank you for the information. I will keep this in mind as I continue to work through this. Kind regards!

Kudos
Views
Valued Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Message 3 of 5

Assuming you mean the Medicaid program in Kansas, the answers to your questions are going to depend entirely on how quickly your mother qualifies under Kansas laws. Those in turn will also depend on whether there is a spouse involved and many other factors. You need to start there.

Given that -- depending on state and personal circumstances -- application for Medicaid for custodial care can be a long process, I would keep (or change based on drug regimen) her Part D plan for now (given the price you quoted, I am assuming you mean Part -- not Plan -- D).

I am with Gail in that I cannot figure out what you mean by "B"

• -- if you mean a Plan B supplement, then it would not have covered the co-pay in the SNF;
  • -- if you meant Medicare Part B and the premium is that high, that is probably going to be an impediment to getting Medicaid quickly.

So again, probably keep both until and if Kansas Medicaid tells you otherwise

Kudos
Views
Valued Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Message 4 of 5

WilsonTL wrote: