AARP's Response to Trump Administration’s Decision to Discontinue Paying Federal Cost-Sharing Reductions. Read Here

Bronze Conversationalist

Re: Accountants

Message 1 of 6 (2,042 Views)

I have a financial manager/planner who often references my asking "my accountant."  So far, I have not hired a CPA or Accountant and don't feel the need.  Taxes are prepared on Turbo Tax and I am comfortable with that. My family lawyer also mentioned checking with an accountant and yet she, like the planner, usually quote the basics relevant to my situation.  I Google the rest. 

Super Social Butterfly

[ Edited ]
Message 2 of 6 (2,214 Views)

I don't use an accountant, I use a CPA.

Gold Conversationalist

Message 3 of 6 (2,479 Views)

To use an accountant, you'd actually have to have money, right?  Cat Wink

This is just me being sarcastic.  No, I have never used an accountant.

Trusted Social Butterfly

[ Edited ]
Message 4 of 6 (2,744 Views)

JEdmund wrote:

"...I am an Accountant and I use Turbo Tax to do my own taxes.  I wouldn't use an Accountant for financial planning, for myself.  I would prefer a CFP.....".

Agreed. DW was an accountant in a former life, and she does our taxes the old-fashioned way, using the paper forms and a calculator (and putting some forms into Excel). She is an AARP volunteer tax aide and uses software for them.

But I have been the one, for decades, that did all the investing and most financial planning. She knows taxes, but overall financial planning is not her forte, as you're expressing.

Just think. The world was built by the lowest bidder.
Bronze Conversationalist

Message 5 of 6 (2,766 Views)

I am an Accountant and I use Turbo Tax to do my own taxes.  I wouldn't use an Accountant for financial planning, for myself.  I would prefer a CFP.