Get the vision care news and information you need in the AARP Eye Center.

Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Re: newbie here also

Message 1 of 5

Hi Sharon. I grew up in Miami, Florida. I attended college in upstate New York (Keuka College near Penn Yan).  I experienced the four seasons in upstate N.Y.; I loved the cold, snowy winters.  After leaving college, I came to San Francisco, CA. That move happened in 1975; I've lived here "off and on" since. I love to travel and have travelled to London, England, Tanzania, Africa, Cairo, Eygpt, India Bombay & New Dehli.  State side I've lived in Chicago, IL (Lombard suburbia).  My daughter is married and she and her husband live in London, England.  I visit London each year. Like you, I can only take Florida in very small dosages.  I love the weather but the people are challeging to get to know.  Do your 4-children live in Florida?

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Silver Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 2 of 5

Nothing in this area.

Kudos
Views
Treasured Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Message 3 of 5

Hello and welcome,

You might try meetup. They have specific groups for seniors. Check here to see if there is a group in your area: http://www.meetup.com/topics/seniors-making-new-friends/

Or you could check out your local Senior Center. Ours has everything from pickleball leagues to historic reenactment groups.

"The key to success is to keep growing in all areas of life - mental, emotional, spiritual, as well as physical." Julius Erving
Kudos
Views
Super Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Message 4 of 5

Welcome, Sharon! Denese in LV.

Born and raised in MW (snow, ice, humidity); raised kids in Southern Cali; now LV old lady Smiley Wink

Being "home alone" at over 50 is not a bad thing.

Use your AARP perks and you'll be shocked the $ you will save.

You'll also be amazed the people you'll meet that aren't out to rip you off.