Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Relocating To An Area Where I Don't Know Any One

Trusted Contributor

Relocating To An Area Where I Don't Know Any One

This is my first time post here on AARP.   I am a male, 65 (soon to be), single, no children and never married.   I recently retired unexpectedly from a job I had for 15 years.  I had loved that job but things took a turn for the worst at the time I left there.  And now I'm taking in less money but still paying rent which is higher than what I'm taking in.   Also I'm not crazy about the city in which I reside at and desire to leave.

Just recently I was thinking about moving to a rural area in another part of the US.  I had it all planned to visit that place but then I decided to cancel my trip there.  I didn't know anyone at that place, and that was a factor for me deciding to cancel the trip.   But I have regretted that decision.  Perhaps I could try again.  The most important factor in my decision to want to move there was that I could afford a house there, which I can't where I am now.

Is it a good idea to move to a place and not knowing anyone?   I feel like it would be much easier to move to new place if I knew someone there.  Is there anyone else like me facing this?  I consider myself introverted and kind of shy, so it's not easy for me to make friends. I personally prefer to hear from men only about this, especially single men.  

Anonymous
Not applicable

(1 comment) Great @TomW178779 and luv your response @MYR06052022 , @MYR06052022 , @lc3507 , @T23 , @AlbaraqS881758 . Did you move?

Trusted Contributor

No I still haven't moved.   I even haven't gone anywhere to visit so I can scout it out.  I feel alright about staying where I am; but deep down it's not good for me.   I'm putting out more money every month than I'm taking in, so that's not good.   And lately, I'm not getting along with my neighbors.