Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Medicaid Spend down "Die at Home or Assisted Living"

Contributor

Medicaid Spend down "Die at Home or Assisted Living"

Hello

I really need some advice.  Ive been doing days and hours of research, and really need some community input.    Both of my parents are 90 and still live at home, and they dont want to leave.  Their only income is social security  (about $2200) with no pension and no VA eligibility.  Im a 32 year veteran and my brother retired at 20, or parents taught us well i guess.  

Im familiar with medicaid spend down, 5 year look back etc.  What I cant decide is... should we keep them at home or move them out now.  What is better for their quality of life in the next 5 years, living at home, but being generally broke, or cashing out of their home (sell or HELOC) and using that money NOW to offset costs. Im spending $5k a year keeping them in that house, but will never see that money back if they go on medicaid. 

Their health and ability to stay at home has suddenly become harder.  In the next few months we will need to make some critical decisions but need some input.  Everything I search for online regarding medicaid spend down and protecting home assets etc are all law firms.  

Question:  How do we properly and legally use the equity in their house to cover expenses now and for the next  5-8 years, knowing they will both end up needing medicaid but at different times.