Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Disabled Senior Looking For Housing, Not Having Any Luck

Regular Contributor

Disabled Senior Looking For Housing, Not Having Any Luck

To make a long story as short as possible, I'll be turning 59 in a few weeks, I've been collecting SSDI since 2012, and I have not held a job since 2010.  Additionally, I have a full scale IQ of 82, and I've been diagnosed with dyslexia, dyscalculia, Asperger's, and I maybe a high functioning schizophrenic.  However, on the plus side, I do not smoke, I do not drink, I do not take drugs.

Also, when I went on Social Security Disability Insurance back in 2012, my wife and I moved overseas, due to the fact that we could not find any affordable housing in the US.  However, recently I was forced to return to the US, due to an emergency, and now, for the past two months I've been sleeping on random couches, in the Sacramento, California area, as I search for a new place to live.

My problem is that my learning disabilities seem to be making it difficult for me comprehend all of the various agencies, and on top of that, there seems to be a fair amount of scammers out there who are willing to take advantage of people in a situation like mine. 

Also, I've tried contacting various non-profit agencies, including 211, but the only thing they do is hand you a packet full of 1-800 telephone numbers for shelters and low income housing, but whenever I call the 1-800 numbers, the person on the other end of the line always says that they have a one to two year waiting list, and there is nothing they can do to help me.  (Why do these non-profit agencies exist, when the only thing they can do is give out useless lists of 1-800 numbers?)

So, I've heard vague rumors about programs such as "Section 811 Supportive Housing For Persons With Disabilities" but when I try to look into such programs, I cannot seem to find a point of contact.