Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Retired Community Manager

What is your exercise of choice?

What is your preferred way to get exercise/move? How long have you been doing it?

Still looking for ideas on the right activity for you, or maybe a new activity? Check out our new guide on getting moving: https://www.aarp.org/health/healthy-living/info-2019/get-moving.html

Contributor

MY exercises are walking /jogging, and abs exercises

0 Kudos
Contributor

I have been a paddler since I was 11 years old. I first paddled canoes on calm rivers and lakes. I graduated to tandem canoe whitewater when I was 45 and my wife and I ran (played, really) major whitewater rivers in the East and Mountain West. When we moved to Southern California in 2006, where there is a lack of whitewater anywhere close (and most of the rivers are meant for whitewater kayaks or rafts), we transitioned to 6-man outrigger canoes.  I coach novice (first year paddlers no matter the age) and race outriggers on the open ocean, having raced the National Championship--the Catalina Crossing--8 times, medaling 4 times. Can't do whitewater canoe anymore (you have to kneel in a whitewater canoe--the knees can't take it anymore), but I plan to coach and race 6-man outrigger this year. I will be 74, and I am happiest with a paddle in my hand. 

0 Kudos
Anonymous
Not applicable

(1 comment) I luv to explore by walking. I get "bored" walking same route more than "once" = forget walking trails. I park and explore. Love your response @ip3285 , @OmegaB474651 , @mb35544229 and @MaryR211725 ! Nicole ๐Ÿ™‚

0 Kudos
Regular Contributor