Getty Images and AARP present the Disrupt Aging Collection, a searchable photo collection that redefines what it means to get older. Take a look.

Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Re: What is your exercise of choice?

Message 41 of 90

I ride my bike. I have always ridden a bike but after my x4 bypass 6 years ago I started riding like my life depended on it. I ride 10 miles at a time 3 to 5 days a week. In this time after my surgery I have ridden over 8000 miles and worn out two sets of tires. 20190606_102720.jpg

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 42 of 90

I am 69 years old & am an expert skier #1(30 days per year), #2 bicycle like a 30-year-old(35-50 miles in 2 1/2 to 3 1/2 hours on a hybrid bike), #3 work out at the gym(the same workout I did when I was 30 (1 - 1/4 hrs. nonstop with heavy weights), kayak, & hike. Everything I do is full-bore until I'm exhausted. I know I probably over do it, but I'm going to fight old age as long as I can. Am I sore? Tired? Yes, but it is such a routine that when I don't do it, I feel like I haven't done anything. My motto is work out like a 30-year-old & don't let yourself fet out of shape in the first place! If I die, I want to die on the ski slopes in a blaze of glory!

Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 43 of 90

Mondays and Wednesdays I take the Silver Sneakers class at the Y, then the Aqua aerobics class. On Wednesdays I also take a beginners Spin class and do the exercise machine circuit for about an hour.  On Fridays I try use the exercise machines and either the stationary bicycle or rowing machine, then I take a Qigong class. On Saturdays and Sundays I also take Qigong classes.

I also walk my dog before heading to the gym -- except in the rain. I'm 68 and have been trying to knock off some extra weight. So far down 75 lbs.

Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 44 of 90