Refresh your driving skills and learn about new car technology with the AARP Driver Safety page.

Highlighted
Treasured Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Re: Give the Gift of Exercise (couple uses Christmas gifts to improve fitness and wins gold)

Message 1 of 9

@2Papa wrote:

Those recumbent bikes are too close to the ground to be seen by vehicle drivers. I feel they are dangerous because of that.  Me and the wife love our fold up bikes!

I understand the concern. I thought that as well, until I started riding them. We rode 3,400 miles this year, mostly on paved bike trails, but I can report that after a handful of small group rides that involved stretches of rural and city roadway; particpating in a 62-mile road ride through the Colorado National Monument; training on a steep country road in preparation to race our trikes at the Huntsman World Senior Games' uphill event (we won gold), that trikes are far more visible than one suspects.

We wear bright colors (friends tease that we are addicted to day-glo), use safety flags (more day-glo), and ride defensively. In those 3,400 miles, I've had one mishap. A few weeks ago, a teenager was walking his dog offleash on one of the paved trails we frequent. His dog ran from behind me, then cut in front and I reacted with a too-hard pull of the brakes, which caused one wheel to raise up, which then caused me to spill out of the trike. Of course I was sitting a few inches off the ground, so I was a little bruised but not seriously hurt (and neither was the dog, but I admit I gave that lad a tongue lashing).

All that said, yes indeed, when I am in a bike lane riding next to parked cars I am on high alert because a car door opened by an unaware person could cause a triker considerable injury. So I avoid that situation as much as possible and ride like they really are trying to kill me when I cannot avoid said situation. Smiley Happy And I have a clown horn for announcing my presence or asking for space as needed. :0)