Rethink your job search and find opportunities for experienced workers with the AARP Job Board.

Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Re: My favorite quotations about grief (and adversity)

Message 1 of 3
My husband died 5 months ago.
One of my favoeite quotes:
"Cry not because it is over, smile because it happened."
Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Info Seeker +
Kudos
Views

Re: My favorite quotations about grief (and adversity)

Message 2 of 3

Rabbi Jonathan Saks has beautiful missive in Healing the Trauma of Loss with thoughts that appeal to all faiths.  "We are embodied souls- flesh and blood and we grow old and lose the ones we love...

Those we loved and lost live on in us, as we will live in in those we love. For love is as strong as death, and the good we do never dies."

Kudos
Views
Regular Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views
Replies

My favorite quotations about grief (and adversity)

Message 3 of 3

Back when i worked as a social worker in a cancer unit, i began to collect quotations because i found them comforting and helpful. Do you find any of these enlightening? Do you have favorite sayings, bits of scripture or poems that have helped you to understand, heal, grieve with less bitterness?

Here are a few:

The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong at the broken places.     Ernest Hemingway

I’m convinced…that grief can be the instrument by which we come to grace; that sickness can be the vehicle we ride to new depths of self-discovery or charity toward others; that pain and loss and grueling anxiety can be the pathway by which we come to rock-hard certainty about our own purpose.  Of course, it isn’t the pathway I’d choose.  But we don’t make the choices. 

Mary Fisher, 1994, AIDS Activist

Give sorrow words; the grief that does not speak whispers the o’er-fraught heart and bids it break.           -- Shakespeare