Take the AARP Smart Driver course and you could save on auto insurance! Sign up today.

Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Re: What Bucket List items have you achieved later in life?

Message 11 of 29

Well, I'm 50 and I started learning to play piano at 48. Never had time when younger. I still work of course but I don't run around keeping myself super busy like I used to. I like more down time.

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Highlighted
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 12 of 29

I was a very young child when I told my parents I wanted to be on a stage in front of an audience, but they had no idea that was possible, so I never got to do a play until I was 25. Along the way, I became a published cartoonist, edited and contributed to several small magazines, and performed in many plays. In my fifties and early sixties, I added a bit of film work, recorded seven audiobooks which have been downloaded 1.5 million times, did stand-up and sketch comedy and a lot of improv. I got to sing on stage with a Tony-winning actress. Last night I was in a sold-out show with my younger improv team, mostly people half my age, and I also perform with a group of senior improvisers; we're getting ready for our second festival performance in September. And I'm writing a musical this year! I got a late start on my creative goals, but always tried to do whatever I could to keep moving forward. Do what you can right now, and when you look back, you'll always have a lot of great memories. Then look forward again and ask "What's next...?"

Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 13 of 29

Wow! great attitude! Wishing you the best on your recovery so you can keep on traveling!

Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 14 of 29

I also tried hang gliding. Awesome. 

Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 15 of 29