Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Fix the payment issue

I can't be the only person with payment issue I have tried several times and I get the same error

it does the same when I try to pay with PayPal  too! 

there's nothing wrong with my card

703201DC-8274-4D3A-8956-971609542F31.jpeg

Community Concierge

@SharonK501528 That message typically means there is a billing mismatch detected. Please verify that the name and address you entered at checkout match your payment card's billing statement. The Name and Address displayed at checkout must exactly match the credit/debit card billing statement, or click EDIT and modify the name and/or address to match. Common discrepancies include missing building or apartment numbers, and P.O. Boxes and ensure that there are no missing characters or misspellings. Thanks!

0 Kudos
Contributor

You may be dismissive of others, but as a technical expert I can professionally advise that you clearly have a technical problem, and it is not something to casually dismiss as an end-user issue.  I too receive either a generic failure error when attempting to use PayPal, and the MSS48 error when entering credit card information directly.  I have attempted to renew my membership using

1. Multiple computers (including an Android phone)
  2. Multiple browsers (pre-cleared caches with all of them)
  3. Multiple source IP addresses
  4. Multiple payment methods

My name and address are current and correct.  I even make sure to authenticate to my account prior to starting the transaction, just in case it's an internal authentication problem.  All name and address information is consistent across AARP, my credit cards, and PayPal.

There is no difference.  Perhaps your credit card processor is playing games on the backend, but then I am not sure how you are interfaced with PayPal payments, as those also generate errors.