Highlighted
Contributor
Kudos
Views
Replies

Disappointment and a challenge.. Outspell

Message 1 of 1

A while back, when Beach Sudoku went away here, I was disappointed. I liked the unconventional challenge of playing games and this was part of my daily routine.

When OutSpell showed up, I was once again happy. I am a lifelong Scrabble player and spent many a game with my mom and oldest sister playing very competitive games. Other family would join in now and then but were never quite as intense as the three of us.

When I started playing OutSpell, I trepiditiously started with the easy setting expecting it to be reasonably hard. I quickly went right to the hard setting where I have been ever since. Of course, following the leader board, I could see that there were players who were way beyond my level of skill. I always look at these folks with admiration. I love a worthy opponent and seek to use them to push me to work harder, to figure out how I can legitimately pursue and perhaps best them. When I started experimenting with the practice mode I soon began to realize just how it would be possible to score such high scores. Little by little I began to formulate a strategy that I thought was similar to what was being done to achieve this. There was a lot of trial and error along the way. I would come up with 13 letter words and strategies for how to build bridges to segments so that they could eventually be connected up only to find that OutSpell wouldn’t recognize a particular word as legitimate. So, there was a lot of experimentation to find out what it did recognize. Could I build a cross and frame? There was a need to keep a letter inventory so that I didn’t try to use too many words with too many letter “E” for example. Find the right long words that still had enough left over letters, particularly vowels, to be able to build other long or high scoring words. I studied placement of high value letters to maximize the return on that letter in the big scheme of t