Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Retired Community Manager

Why We Like Video Games

Nearly half of older Americans—and a larger percentage younger than us—play games. Why do we like playing games like Candy Crush, Angry Birds or AARP’s own Right Again! Trivia? This article suggests why. What's your top reason for playing?

I recently started playing Marbles on Stream.  It’s fun and I have met a lot of good people.  Now that I am learning more I am venturing out and playing more online games with streamers I have met. 

0 Kudos

I despise video games, A total waste of time and then make me very anxious and nervous and I would rather play spelling games in a book or crossword puzzles in the newspaper I never play video games

0 Kudos
Regular Contributor

Thought of you, I received last week in mail, this week saw on shelves at Walmart's books & magazine area. Readers Digest Sept 2022 
The Genius Issue: Build your word power fun facts, quizzes and more. Weird word origins (page 54), Learning about your fav words (page 74), So that's why we say that (page 54).
The enduring delight of the dictionary (page 71), Brain games and word power (page 160).
Trusted Contributor

THANKS for more info. Always liked the Word Power. But now they don't seem to include the root origin of words (Greek, Latin, etc)

0 Kudos
Contributor

It sounds like you are sensitive to electronic stimulation and visual sensations. It is good that you don't ruin your health by playing them. 

0 Kudos
Trusted Contributor

Unfortunately, YES. Can’t play moving video games, just static games like crosswords and trivia. Get nauseous and/or migraine around moving, blinking, strobe or lots of lights. Went to a disco ONCE but couldn’t stay. Have to be careful about concerts with light shows – not attend or keep eyes shut and hand over eyes if bad. Also bad motion sickness while riding. Bad eyes and ears my whole life, which are obviously connected.

0 Kudos
Trusted Contributor