Refresh your driving skills and learn about new car technology with the AARP Driver Safety page.

Recognized Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Re: What are your plans for the 4th of July?

Message 1 of 13

I’m grand Marshall of the local July 4th parade and will be reciting the Dec of Independence at the community picnic.  After dark I’ll be heading up the fireworks display that will rival any other city's display.  Then it will be off to the pub for a couple brewskis before retiring for the night.

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 2 of 13

I make my living booking hotels for independent insurance adjusters working for any adjusting co. all over the US.  It is 24/7, so I worked.  Living in SW Florida, there are monsoons every afternoon, so there was a real strong lightning/thunder storm mid-afternoon and still sprinkling into the evening.  I'm grateful to be an American living in the greatest country on earth! -Dana

Kudos
Views
Frequent Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Message 3 of 13

Early this morning, before the heat hit, hubby and I walked down the easement and hung an American flag on our mailbox, which is next to the paved road.  Then we walked/ran about 2 miles and picked up cans and bottles that others had thrown along the  sides of the road.  We'll eventually take them to the recycle place.  Then fed chickens and goats, watered vegetable garden, etc., and picked zucchini and yellow crook neck squash before they got too big for me to carry!  Later my husband and I will watch the fireworks from the front porch and keep our dogs company so the noise doesn't scare them.  We're not sure if our newest adoptee, a large 7 year old German Shepherd, has been exposed to them before, so we want to be with him and our older dog when the noise starts.  Happy Fourth of July to all.  May our country have many more that we can honestly call "Independence Day"!

Kudos
Views
Valued Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Message 4 of 13

Well,