Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

For Genealogy Buffs -- what has surprised you the most?

Bronze Conversationalist

For Genealogy Buffs -- what has surprised you the most?

A few of us seem to be into researching family history. What has surprised you the most in what you have found so far?

How far back have you been able to get?

What has surprised me is finding names in my tree that I studied in school, never knowing there was a connection. 

I've gone back well beyond the middle ages on one branch and others  to a couple generations before immigration to the colonies.

How about you? Any tips to share?

0 Kudos
Bronze Conversationalist

I stumbled on this YouTube video talking about free websites genealogists use for searching historical records. If you are hitting brick walls with you efforts, try some of these:

https://youtu.be/9ziAj8aD7XA

Regular Contributor

I've been working on a family tree since 2007 on Ancestry.com.  I've been able to establish ancestry back to the 1700's.  The women in my family are eligible for DAR (Daughters of the American Revolution) membership since we are able to prove one of our ancestors fought in the American Revolution.  We are also eligible for the Daughters of the War of 1812 membership.  Myself and another cousin are currently researching for a possible Mayflower connection.  

What surprised me the most was finding a scandal that was written up in the newspapers for a distant ancestor on my father's side.    

Ancestry.com has been an amazing tool in researching my family tree.  They have an impressive amount of documents.  

Completing a DNA test on both Ancestry and 23andme has opened up even more connections.  It's amazing to see just how far the branches of your tree spread.   

Super Contributor

DeahC: