Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Contributor

Managing chronic pain

0 Kudos
Contributor

Hi everyone! I am new to this discussion but can only say that the FDA only lists 2 types of pain management. Short term pain, typically that is over after several weeks, and Chronic Pain that is defined as pain longer than 3 months, or that last after time needed for tissue to heal. All pain recommendations and education do not deal with pain treatments longer than that. Most all helpful medications for long term pain are "Controlled Substances". Guidelines only address abuse. In fact the FDA released in January 2016 new guidelines for Opiod pain medication management. There are no recommendations for patients that use Opiods for long term pain management. It is not even discussed other than to present a monitoring attitude for Doctors to recognize abuse. Doctors are held accountable as a Police Force for abuse accountability only. I agree that Opiod Pain Medications do have a bad abuse history, but please do not categorize my needs as that of an abuser.