Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Periodic Contributor

will my back pain ever totally go away

I am a retired nurse. My mother was ill for many years and I cared for her, then I went (most naturally for me) into the nursing field.  I worked in a nursing home and lifted and tugged and did much physical work caring for my patients. Never did I have a back injury-never.

About 6 months ago, I helped an aging, overweight, widowed friend who was recovering from surgery.  I tugged and repositioned her in her bed.  I am guessing that is when I hurt my back.  I have suffered ever since.  I have had 2 epidural shots in my back from the sports injury doctor that my primary doctor sent me to and I also did all of the physical therapy sessions.  I still hurt. Will I ever be pain-free?  It has changed my life.  My gardening and all of my hobbies have ended.  I am sad.

0 Kudos
Gold Conversationalist

I am wondering how you are doing. 

@MrsBarbara54 wrote:

I am a retired nurse. My mother was ill for many years and I cared for her, then I went (most naturally for me) into the nursing field.  I worked in a nursing home and lifted and tugged and did much physical work caring for my patients. Never did I have a back injury-never.

About 6 months ago, I helped an aging, overweight, widowed friend who was recovering from surgery.  I tugged and repositioned her in her bed.  I am guessing that is when I hurt my back.  I have suffered ever since.  I have had 2 epidural shots in my back from the sports injury doctor that my primary doctor sent me to and I also did all of the physical therapy sessions.  I still hurt. Will I ever be pain-free?  It has changed my life.  My gardening and all of my hobbies have ended.  I am sad.

Kudos
Views
0 Kudos
Regular Contributor

Hi Barbara,

I am so sorry that you are in pain. I am a Nurse Anesthetist and have been involved in helping patients with those epidural injections. Did they help?