Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Taking care of wheelchair bound 83 yr old mother

Contributor

Taking care of wheelchair bound 83 yr old mother

Hello:

I am trying to do my homework on how and where do I start to become a caregiver for my 83 year old mother because I am new to all of this. My mother is in a wheelchair with no mobility of her legs. She had a stroke years ago and only has mobility in her right arm and hand. She went through major surgery in 2013 and has been living with a close family member because she is unable to live on her own. Although, prior to the surgeries, she was living independent. But, not taking care of herself properly was the reason for the surgeries. Now she is in form of depression and is in total denial of her condition. Her living arrangement has become unhealthy for her mentally and physcally, therefore, I am trying to rectified her situation in hopes to make it better for the remaining days of her life, but I don't know what road or direction to take. I do work full-time and I am a single female. I myself am 58 years old in fair to good health. I would like to continue working. My mother does receive medicare, medicaid and Athem Blue Cross Blue Shield.

I would like in-home health care for her, but there wasn't anthing available through AARP online website and per the convesation with a represenbtative for the rural area I just moved to.  I hope someone can give me advise, I will greatly appreciate any help I can seek.

0 Kudos
Periodic Contributor

Hi there! Will you be the only caregiver involved with taking care of your mother? I have three sisters and they are all involved with taking care of my father, which is a blessing, but it can also be difficult to coordinate a lot of the necessary tasks like medication management and doctor's appointments.