Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Periodic Contributor

Re: Is anyone taking care of a spouse?

Hi

I am new to this sight. I have been caregiver to my husband for the last three years and recently had to quit my job and become a full-time caregiver because he can't be alone anymore. He has dementia and Parkinson's and gets lost in our home.It has been a big adjustment because my husband gets so confused with everything and I have to take care of absolutely everything. I feel alone most of the time even though he is here. Unless you are in this situation no-one else understands. Talking with other caregivers is important because we understand the hi's and lo's of our days.

Good Luck and God Bless each of you!

Mary

Trusted Contributor

Hey Jane, Thank you for your response! Christmas is over, the holiday had very minor bumps, the visit with my brother was GREAT. I'm so glad he came up! We worked together in the yard, the kitchen, watched a good movie and talked! Life doesn't get any better! My husband was able to visit a bit as well, I'm very grateful for the time we all spent together! '
Bronze Conversationalist

@lb50258545 wrote:
Hey Jane, Thank you for your response! Christmas is over, the holiday had very minor bumps, the visit with my brother was GREAT. I'm so glad he came up! We worked together in the yard, the kitchen, watched a good movie and talked! Life doesn't get any better! My husband was able to visit a bit as well, I'm very grateful for the time we all spent together! '

Hooray! It sounds like a lovely visit, refreshing, fun and relaxing. A stronger connection with your brother. As you can say, life doesn't get any better. SO GLAD. And thanks for sharing your joy with us.

Jane

0 Kudos
Trusted Contributor