Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Periodic Contributor

Re: Is anyone taking care of a spouse?

Hi

I am new to this sight. I have been caregiver to my husband for the last three years and recently had to quit my job and become a full-time caregiver because he can't be alone anymore. He has dementia and Parkinson's and gets lost in our home.It has been a big adjustment because my husband gets so confused with everything and I have to take care of absolutely everything. I feel alone most of the time even though he is here. Unless you are in this situation no-one else understands. Talking with other caregivers is important because we understand the hi's and lo's of our days.

Good Luck and God Bless each of you!

Mary

Honored Social Butterfly

@   mf70661080 - reply to your 2/23/2015 post

CVA or "cerebral vascular accident" is really just another name for a stoke.  All stokes do some damage but where they are located in the brain determines what effects they may have on the person.

They could be Transient Ischemic Attack (TIA) - which are like mini-strokes but even these will cause some damage. 

It sounds to me that he could be having more with the weakness in his legs.

He really needs to have those neurological studies done - probably with a brain scan.  Only that way you will know how much damage there is and what might be expected for the short and long term and can make any plans that you have to make for the level of care he might need.

Hang in there and hopefully you will know something soon.  If he has a male friend or a son / nephew close by, maybe you could ask them to spend a bit of time with him just so you can get out a bit, weather permitting. 

Here is an article on Strokes - symptoms and types from WEBMD 

http://www.webmd.com/stroke/guide/stroke-symptoms-types -

read especially the SYMPTOMS of A Stroke

Good Luck.

It's Always Something . . . . Roseanna Roseannadanna
0 Kudos
Regular Social Butterfly