Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Overwhelmed

Hello,

I am new, and this is my first time using the support group. My father is 85 years old; he broke his hip back in April of this year. There are six siblings in the family, but at times it feels that all the work falls on me. One of my siblings thinks that it is typical to age, and he says that I should not to worry about my father. I refuse to stop watching him and caring for him, but at times, I feel overwhelmed. My sister helps as much as she can, but sometimes, I have the feeling that she does not want to help.

I get it, we all got things to do, and of course, they have a job that they need to go every day. Unlike me, I go to school full time, have a husband,  and I have grown up kids that I hardly see. But to me, my father comes first.  

I went to visit my father on Monday; I heard him screaming for my name. I immediately ran inside the house to find him on the floor and confused. I freaked out and took him to the ER immediately. The doctors found out that my father's diabetes is not well controlled.

We hired someone to come and help during the day, and I stay with from 2-5: 30 pm. After that, my brothers are supposed to check on him. One of my brothers remain with him but does not monitor his glucose as he is supposed to. 

I feel overwhelmed and always worry about him; I do not know what to do.

I got into a car accident today because I was thinking about him and did not realize that I was supposed to stop. I feel that I am having a mental breakdown, and I do not want to put this burden on my daughters. 

Please advise.

Thank you.

AARP Expert