Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Newbie Here! Longdistance caregiving is tough!

Contributor

Newbie Here! Longdistance caregiving is tough!

Greeetings!

I live hundreds of miles from my aging parents -- 82 and 80.  The last few weeks have been really difficult.  Dad's been in the hospital and mother has become increasingly hostile to changes. And big changes are coming.

When the hospital asked Dad to choose a continuous care facility for his next stint of PT and OT, mom went beserk. She refused to do any research and believes that if she doesn't choose one, they simply won't put him in one. 

My poor brother (lives about 3 hours away) has been doing the best he can, but the acceleration of their neediness is really difficult..

I am going to be mining these forums for a lot of help!!

AARP Expert

@WendySueGilbert wrote:

Greeetings!

I live hundreds of miles from my aging parents -- 82 and 80.  The last few weeks have been really difficult.  Dad's been in the hospital and mother has become increasingly hostile to changes. And big changes are coming.

When the hospital asked Dad to choose a continuous care facility for his next stint of PT and OT, mom went beserk. She refused to do any research and believes that if she doesn't choose one, they simply won't put him in one. 

My poor brother (lives about 3 hours away) has been doing the best he can, but the acceleration of their neediness is really difficult..

Hey Wendy, indeed welcome.

You've received some awesome advice already. There is so much wisdom here, and we'll be grateful for any you share with us, too, as all of us become experts at some point or other, and the hard way if you're anything like me.