Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

New to the caregiver position need help.

Good evening fellow caregivers. My name is Audrey and I use to teach. Right now I'm taking care of a wonderful 79 year old mother. Is there anyone who can tell me how I can get my mother an aide to come to our home? I learn as I go. I can sure use some guidance. Thank you.

0 Kudos
Contributor

Hello, my name is Pennie.  I am new to this caregiver thing.  I am doing my best to understand and know what my resources are to help my mother and her signaficant other of 33 years who has stage 4 lung cancer get through their lives as they know it today.  Right now her partner is in a rehab unit trying to recover from his latest eposide of being in the VA Hospital in Richmond becaue of his cancer.  My mother has been by his side ever since, makes the trips back n forth from the hospital and now the rehab unit practically every day.  She is not all that healthly herself, but takes responsibility in doing things on her own, without too much help from others.  I have taken some responsiblility in helping her as much as I can while working fulltime, taking care of my own family, and building a new home.

What I need the most and understand, what/where can I find caregiver services in her area and understand how I know they are the right fit for them.  How do I get my mother to understand she isn't a spring chicken any longer and get her to understand it is ok to ask for help.  Especially now that she is trying to take care of her partner who is dying of lung cancer.

It is so hard on all of us, meaning her children, grandchildren who want to help when we can but still take care of ourselves in the process too.

Life isn't gentle on us, but we need to know, we can only do what we can and not feel guilty in the same measure.

Appreciate any and all ideas, suggestions, supporters, etc. on knowing what I can do to help my mom.

Thanks,

Pennie

0 Kudos
AARP Expert

@pfinley109 Hi Pennie!