Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Helping someone who shows signs of giving up?

Regular Contributor

Helping someone who shows signs of giving up?

Hi everyone, I'm new to caregiving, I started as caregiver for my mom after I retired early because of health problems of my own and soon became caregiver for my dad after he was taken ill. I have a sister who lived at home until recently when she moved out with her 6 year old daughter, and my daughter lives there and neither of them offers any help in caring for them. My dad is in a nursing home, he went in for rehab, now he's been in there since April and it would seem that dad has given up or feeling sorry for himself because he won't do the therapy so he can fome home. We have no men in our family and I can't lift him out of bed into a wheelchair, take him to the bathroom, put him back in the chair and put him back into bed. If he was to come home he would need 24 hour care and that would mean restraining the dogs all day. I don't know what I can do to help motivate him to want to come home. The other problem is that the insurance he has stopped paying for the therapy because he wasn't taking it and unless he gets worse or show signs of improvement they won't pay, so what can I do? I don't like nursing homes and especially that one, but what can I do?

0 Kudos
Periodic Contributor

I feel for you.  My mom 91 lives with me.  She has AFIB, Congestive Heart Failure and COPD.  She frequently gets short of breath and has panic attacks.  From Oct. of 2017 to Dec. 23rd of @ 2017 she was in and out of the hospital and a rehab with breathing problems and an additional lung infection.  She even got a cold while in rehab.