You could save on auto insurance when you complete the AARP Smart Driver course! Get a free phone charging set with promo code AARP6.

Highlighted
Bronze Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Re: Help!!

Message 1 of 5

I agree with Jane call in Social Services and get help ASAP and get the help you need for your mom before it gets worse.  I did not realize the TV shows were not that helpful but if not do not use them use Jane's advise and use it soon!  You do not want it to get worse! 

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Regular Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Message 2 of 5

The office on aging can be found by typing your zip code into www.eldercare.gov. And they'll have experience working with hoarders. Absolutely. In my area, there's a list of companies that have expertise in working with hoarders. One of my clients would only respond to the Adult Protective Services people before he'd give in and let some of the cleaners in. (I'm a hospice social worker.)

This is tough and not unique unfortunately. You've probably seen the tv shows about hoarders. Most of them are not using the patient careful techniques that are required. It's more of a ambush kind of thing which makes for better television. I'm so sorry she's gotten to this state. It's more than you can do. Call in the social services. they have experience.

keep sharing. what will you do next?

jane

Kudos
Views
Treasured Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Message 3 of 5

You might want to check out whatever "Office of Aging" your town, county or state have. Some may have social-worker types, who can go out & check someone (and their home) for safety. You might have to think in terms of what they could suggest, if they decide that your mother's behavior indicates that she's no longer competent to live alone safely.

Registered on Online Community since 2007!
Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 4 of 5