Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Contributor

Hearing impared phone

Has anyone purchased a landline phone that you can read message for who is calling? I have a 91 year old mom, who is deaf, very difficult to communicate with her. Any advice would be appreciated.
0 Kudos
Contributor

Hi I’m a certified case manager and happen to know your state should have an agency that can help you provide for your moms needs regarding communication. There is a whole lot of options available. Write to me at vadaniel87@gmail.com for any assistance you would like. 

0 Kudos
Honored Social Butterfly

My mother was deaf so I got her a print phone from her audiologist.  She never liked it that well because she had a hard time reading the script, scrolling and her, being her, she had some reservations about letting other be the intermediary in the conversation.  

Washington.edu - Do TTY, TDD, and TT mean the same thing?

If you decide to use one of these services, her local phone company might be able to recommend a model that works best - today there is the internet and WI-FI so that's another compatibility concern or maybe an option too depending on what she has available where she lives and is use to -  Hey, when I'm 91 - I will not learn anything new - time for what I want, like I want, right?!

In later years, my mother's eyesight failed but I hooked her up a fax machine and then sent large print messages and communications to her that way - then she just called me back on her big button phone and talked, and talked, and talked . . . . . . 

That has been many years ago - so my response is dated somewhat.  Good Luck - 

It's Always Something . . . . Roseanna Roseannadanna
0 Kudos
Contributor