Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Double trouble...two Mom's under one roof...is it insanity?

Contributor

Double trouble...two Mom's under one roof...is it insanity?

I have been a care giver for my mom since 2003 when my father passed away, she is 89.  We have a great relationship, and have worked out any kinks that there are between us.  I am married, have two teenage daughters, 17 and 18, and several animal buddies.  Recently my mother-in-law has moved in with us, she is infirm and was in a wheel chair, however is not any more.  I guess I am just horribly depressed.  I am a teacher and most the time am with young people, now with school out, I am taking over the caregiver responsiblities for both Moms.  I have 3 siblings and my husband has two, but they are not willing to take a Mom, so we are the ones which is okay, however, I feel overwhelmed.  Recently, my Mom has been tippy and has fallen, once in the house, and once in the yard, the falls were about 3 weeks apart.  She broke her wrist in each fall, so now she has two casts and cannot do anything for herself.  I don't have a problem helping her, but she is so independent, and a horrible invalid...I just feel really alone.    

0 Kudos
Contributor

Thank you for answering me....I feel very alone.  Well it would seem that we have options with the family, however when you say dumping ground it really hit me, we live REALLY far away from everyone else....hmmm.  I feel really like a horrible person even writing this.  As far as my daughters go, one moved out early and has stopped talking to me, the other is struggling through her senior year.  My husband works but he is really supportive.  I am afraid the rest of the family won't kick in to help, I have asked, no one is interested, especially now that mom has two broken wrists.  My mother in law was in a home before, but was kicked out due to her behavior.  She does help out with the rent since she moved in, which is nice of her.  I just am struggling.