Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Periodic Contributor

Caregiving

Hello--  I'm new to all this but I saw an commercial on TV today regading caregiving.

I currently take care of my mother's friend (my mom passed away several years ago).  He has been more than family to my mother, sister(who also passed away) & me for over 50 years.    He has a heart condition & a bit of dementia;  I basically do everything for him, but at times I feel like it's not enough.   He's not a very good patient, I try to hold everything in--then I feel awful if I lose my temper with him.    I owe him so much for all the years he's been part of our family & helped us when noone else would be there for us.   I did retire in 2015.

0 Kudos
AARP Expert

@I455JAP wrote:

Hello--  I'm new to all this but I saw an commercial on TV today regading caregiving.

I currently take care of my mother's friend (my mom passed away several years ago).  He has been more than family to my mother, sister(who also passed away) & me for over 50 years.    He has a heart condition & a bit of dementia;  I basically do everything for him, but at times I feel like it's not enough.   He's not a very good patient, I try to hold everything in--then I feel awful if I lose my temper with him.    I owe him so much for all the years he's been part of our family & helped us when noone else would be there for us.   I did retire in 2015.

Hi there,