Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Contributor

Caregiving and Early Retirement

Hello, I've been a member of AARP for 6 years, but this is my first time on the forum. I am currently wrestling with what I should do to take care of my elderly mother. It's a long story, but I will try to be brief. I'm 56 years old and lost my job 2 years ago. I'm currently employed in a job that I absolutely hate. My mother took a fall a few weeks ago and fractured her pelvis. She is currently in a Nursing Home getting rehab, but it is temporary. I know her recovery will take some time. However, my biggest concern is her cognitive abilities. She has a hard time thinking of the words she means to say and she gets very confused later in the day. I feel she will need someone to keep an eye on her. I plan on moving in with her as soon as she is released from rehab. My dilemma is what to do about my job. I would greatly like to retire, although I know it's early for me to do so. But, I need health insurance. I'm sure hating my job and the betrayal I felt from the previous job has a lot to do with that attitude.  Furthermore, I want to be there for her whenever she needs me. I post this to get suggestions from others as to their recommendatiions for this situation. Should I retire? Take a leave of absence? Right now I'm using FMLA. Should I work from home? Any suggestions on work from home jobs? Obviously, I'm confused and a bit stressed right now. Any advice, tips, or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Marjorie St Clair
AARP Expert

Hi Marjorie,