Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Periodic Contributor

Being the caretaker

Hi everyone, I’m new to AARP so please forgive me if this has been asked or inappropriate. I’m a 48 year old member who is a caretaker to a 78 year old dad. He can take care of certain things, but most of the burdens fall on me. Sometimes I’m overwhelmed and I gave up my job to be here. I thought it was scary when I first moved him in my house when he was healthier but now he’s declining faster and the fear that settled is slowly coming back. Do you have any hints or tips or even support groups that might be if help? Thank you ... Liz
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
AARP Expert

@TinLizzie48  It sounds totally "normal" that you are feeling fear and maybe overwhelmed. I don't say that to minimize what you're feeling - the opposite - to validate it. Of course you feel that way - your dad is aging and changing and there is more and more pressure on you. I get it. Dad lived with me for 6 years. He had Alzheimer's. Mom was with us the first year as well before she passed on suddenly. So I understand the pressure. Sometimes we feel like ok, I've got this, I've figure it out and we have a routine and I can handle this. Then something changes - a crisis or a health condition worsens or something completely new comes up. It's intense. 

My dad died about 2 yrs ago and I'm still adjusting to being without him. But I can tell you that, while I did sacrifice things, I wouldn't change it. No regrets. My tip for you is to think every day about what you'll look back on and feel good about. Do more of that. Whether it's taking the time to give him a hug or sit and watch tv with him, or advocating for him with the doctor or cooking his favorite food. Consciously be aware of the incredible things you're doing and give yourself some kudos for them.