Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Contributor

Federal Retirement/SS and WEP

I worked as a Civil Servant (CSRS) and didn't pay into SS Retirement and so have WEP applied to my SS retirement. I do have 40 quarter earned earlier. My wife worked for the St. of CA in the UC/Davis Medical Center in Sacramento and didn't pay into SS Retirement and so has WEP applied to her SS retirement. She also has her 40 quarters earned separately. My SS retirement check even with WEP applied is over double my wife's SS retirement check with WEP applied. I thought she could get an alternative SS Retirement of 1/2 my SS retirement. However SSA's calculation of her 1/2 of mine makes a second WEP reduction. Is this right? When calculating her possible 1/2 benefit, I would think it would be either 1) my 1/2 benefit w/o WEP reduced by her WEP or 2) 1/2 my benefit w/ WEP. Surely not 1/2 my benefit w/WEP with a second WEP reduction for her. Does any one have knowledge or experience with this? WEP reduces your SS retirement benefit to about 40/90ths of what you would get otherwise. WEP stands for Windfall Elimination Provision.
0 Kudos
Contributor

Thanks GailL1,

So let me see if I got this right:

Sample Calcs . . . . . . .Annual Figures
 MineSpouse
Pension6000018000
SS/WEP66001800
Medicare-1800-1800
SS Net48000

Spousal w/GPO  
   1/2 MySS/WEP 3300
- 2/3 own Pension -12000
Benefit -8700
  so $0

Peace, Jim

0 Kudos
Honored Social Butterfly

Sample Calcs . . . . . . .MONTHLY Figures 
 MineSpouse
Pension5,0001,500
SS/WEP 550 150

SS Net with both filing on their own SS work record - both have an individual WEP applied  550150

Spousal w/GPO  
   1/2 MySS/WEP    275
OWN Benefit ( 150)
Comparison   125
- 2/3 own Pension (GPO) ( 100 )
Net Spousal SS Benefit / mo.     25

• I have reconfigured your example to a monthly basis
  • Medicare Premiums have NO bearing; thus I have removed them from the table - EACH is gonna pay them regardless in this case.