AARP's caregiver resource center can help you navigate your role as a family caregiver. Try it today.

Frequent Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Re: What's the worst thing about getting old?

Message 21 of 61
Thank you. I'll eat a piece of cake for you!
Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Valued Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Message 22 of 61

What an upbeat post @ip3285!  And Happy Birthday to YOU!!! in advance.

Kudos
Views
Highlighted
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 23 of 61

Losing mobility

Kudos
Views
Frequent Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Message 24 of 61

When I read the question "What's the worst thing about getting old", my thought was "what a negative question".  It brought to mind the song by Bing Crosby:

Ac-cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive
Eliminate the Negative
Latch on to the Affirmative
Don't mess with Mister In-Between!

I finished my PhD at age 78.  I still run even though it's shorter distances than when I was younger; I write a weekly article for an international ezine, garden, care for my farm animals, volunteer at the library, and almost everything else I want to do.  Yes, I have health problems, but I've had them since I was a child - Chron's disease with most of my intestines removed, asthma, and more.  I deal with them and get on with my life.  Why think of the Worst thing about getting older when you can look at all the good things that older age can bring?  Oh, and my 80th birthday will be on July 31st.  Happy Birthday to Me!  

Kudos
Views
Gold Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 25 of 61

Understand. Yet online dating has solved that for me. True, one must be careful, yet there are a lot of fine people and opportunities with dating sites.

Kudos
Views
Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Message 26 of 61