From ‘liquid biopsies’ to precision medicine, these five developments will change cancer care in the next decade. Learn more.

Recognized Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Re: We all have regrets-If you had a Do-Over what would that be?

Message 11 of 23

@TerriS307074 wrote:

I would'nt have started my Early Learning Child Care. Even though I've been blessed to provide the service to many people in the last 28yrs the up and down income of self-employment has made it hard to set up retirement. The 14hrs 5 days and then even on the weekend there are things that I have to do for work. 

Also the way people, banks and now employers have expressed it is "babysitter". I have to correct them I'm a small business owner. Now when changes are coming to state regulations are making it harder to afford to keep going I am finding out how it impacts. It's hard to know where to start looking for new career at 54 and people not seeing all I can provide. Even where to start looking so I don't get phony job postings.

I don't regret all the years, because I've seen many successes that children have had and parents who appreciate me for always being there for them. 

I can totally relate to the self-employment point. Also, sacrifice a career to be a stay-at-home parent raising the children and taking care of the household seems like people want to categorize you into a "useless" area. People have no understanding of the commitment and dedicated hard work it is to be self-employeed for many years. Good luck with the career shift at mid-life ages!

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 12 of 23

I would'nt have started my Early Learning Child Care. Even though I've been blessed to provide the service to many people in the last 28yrs the up and down income of self-employment has made it hard to set up retirement. The 14hrs 5 days and then even on the weekend there are things that I have to do for work.