AARP Members Enjoy Exclusive Discounts on Travel, Dining and More. Join Today

Highlighted
Treasured Social Butterfly

Re: The brains of overweight people look "10 years older" than those of leaner peers

Message 1 of 12 (2,306 Views)

ASTRAEA wrote:

@Epster - I would have said the same thing to anyone, who disagreed with information in a book, while saying they hadn't read it. If by "acerbic" you mean "forthright, I am that; I'm sorry if you thought that meant I was "gunning for you".

I appreciate and accept your apology.

I didn't mean forthright, not exactly. I consider my calling you out for your sharp tone when I had clearly stated that I'd studied this subject for years and thus without reading this particular book could tell you that I wasn't inclined to agree with the stated hypothesis, to be forthright.

As an engineer, I am sure you are accustomed to the practice of weighing new information against information one has already taken onboard. This is how we wrestle with new ideas, and also how studies and hypotheses are peer reviewed. It is also a method to encourage discussion. That's what I was doing. Or trying to initiate, at any rate.

I suppose this leaves us at you say forthright, I say acerbic, let's call the whole thing off, eh? Smiley Happy

The key to success is to keep growing in all areas of life - mental, emotional, spiritual, as well as physical. - Julius Erving

Re: The brains of overweight people look "10 years older" than those of leaner peers

[ Edited ]
Message 2 of 12 (2,324 Views)

@Epster - I would have said the same thing to anyone, who disagreed with information in a book, while saying they hadn't read it. If by "acerbic" you mean "forthright, I am that; I'm sorry if you thought that meant I was "gunning for you".

Registered on Online Community since 2007!

Message 3 of 12 (2,327 Views)