Get a newer and safer vehicle while saving money! Check out the AARP auto buying program.

Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Re: Silver Sneakers: No Longer an AARP Benefit?

Message 1 of 36
Other Medicare supplement programs still offer Silver Sneakers. It appears we can no longer rely on AARP to advocate for us.
Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 2 of 36
It’s all about the profits, baby.
Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 3 of 36
This is my first year with Medicare and I certainly didn’t know. My husband has used Silver Sneakers for ten years and I was so much looking forward to also being able to use it. Now neither of us can use it.
Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 4 of 36
During the ACA hearings in 2009 United Healthcare was one of the worst offenders for finding excuses for dropping people when they got cancer. I especially remember one woman with breast cancer who was dropped because she had failed to disclose that she had acne as a teenager. Executives would get bonuses for large numbers of recissions. When asked if they would stop cutting people who had become ill, huh, you can guess. I was dismayed when I qualified for Medicare, to see it was UHC, because I know they are all about the profits. And I’m sad to find out I was right.
Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 5 of 36

I plan to sign up for a different Medicare supplement program when the enrollment period begins next year.  Unfortunately I’m stuck for the year.

Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 6 of 36