Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

AARP Rewards Healthy Plate Contest, Week 3 May 17-23

Community Manager
Community Manager

AARP Rewards Healthy Plate Contest, Week 3 May 17-23

Welcome to Week 3 of our AARP Rewards Healthy Plate Contest, May 17-23, 2021

This week we are discussing the benefits of an anti-inflammatory diet.  What are your favorite foods or recipes that help stay in sync with anti-inflammatory diets?  Share them here and get 50 AARP Rewards point as well as a chance to win our Week 3 topic.  Rules: https://community.aarp.org/t5/AARP-Rewards-Connect/AARP-Rewards-Healthy-Plate-Contest-2021-Official-... .  Click here to see information on the contest

AARPTeri
Regular Contributor

I always eat a lot of vegetables and fruits, but one thing I'm trying is a little more variety, to eat fruits and vegetables in season whenever possible, trying to buy from the farmers markets when I can. And to add variety I aim to select a wider range of colors. I'm an amateur artist, so when I see the bins full of brightly colored fruits and vegetables I think to myself 'I'd love to paint this scene'! So I'm trying to select fruits and vegetables with an artist's eye! 

Second, I'm incorporating more fresh, and colorful herbs and spices. I sometimes tend to add too much salt to my food - I tend towards the savory & salty versus the sweet - but I notice that when I use fresh lemons, spices, and herbs, I don't need the salt.

Regular Contributor

I'm eating a lot more fruits and vegetables. I've also planted lots of herbs and am using those nearly every day. I also eat plain yogurt with fruit several times a week.

Social Butterfly

@Kateaz That's so smart that you add your own fruit with plain yogurt.  Usually when the fruits included, there is lots of added sugar ( that's not related to the natural sugar in fruit )   ---  Christine

0 Kudos
Contributor