Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Was I discriminated against?

Looking for some input. I recently had an interview at a local Target store. I remember the on-line application asked if I "was over 40." I am wondering if this is legal. When I exited the store, I didn't see *anyone* who even remotely looked like me-everyone seemed to be early 20s. Has anyone here had experience with interviewing at Target? I thought my interview went well-this was for a credit greeter and cashier position, both of which I have extensive experience. Many thanks for any answers/direction you may be able to provide me. I am new to the AARP Forums and hope to help someone else out.
Conversationalist

Target has sure lost my patronage if they is the best they can do.  Some other tricks they use to get older people out of there is that the music they play is sometimes rubbish.  Songs that contain sexual content which is what some of the younger workers enjoy.  I won't shop for any company that chooses to play stupid.

Seniors are just antique people rich with history.

You can bet your bottom dollar you were and the application violates the age discrimination laws. do you have the application that states that? if not go in and get one and take it for evidence.

Contributor

I went to the Target website and looked at the application.  I could find no question referencing 40 years of age.  Of course, they ask for your birth date, so figuring out your age is simple arithmetic.  Therefore, the question is why would this big, multi-national company with more lawyers than you can shake a stick at, risk a discrimination suit over such a crazy, illegal question?  The answer is they wouldn't.

As to all the other employees appearing to be in their early 20's, this could have something to do with the wage scale for this type of position.  Since it is probably close to the minimum wage, this work attracts mainly young people who do not have the qualifications for higher paying jobs.