Find the resources you need

Help Guidelines My Settings

Community
Work & Retirement

Silver Conversationalist
AARPMiller

Share your concerns about Social Security

[ Edited ]

1)     In the article,  Social Security Fears, many Social Security myths are addressed. What concerns you the most about Social Security? 

Please use plain text.
Silver Conversationalist
AARPMiller

Share your fears about Social Security

1)     In the article,  Social Security Fears, many Social Security myths are addressed. What concerns you the most about Social Security? 

Please use plain text.
Info Seeker
Powderhorn63

Re: Share your fears about Social Security

I am new to receiving Social Security.  Last week I went to the grocery store and bought staples, many of which were not previously prepared foods.  When I arrived home, I went to my files and checked the same 19 items that I purchased this time last year and found that I had paid 30% more this year than last for the same items.  Gasoline has increased almost double (average) in the last 12 months.  Most federal employees, including US Congressmen, have received cost of living increases.  Some in the amount of 16% increase in one year, as per the US News reported on television.  I have been told that the Social Security recipients have NOT received even a cost of living increase for at least three years (as per local recipients). 

Is there a chance that this inequity of passing out increases will be addressed?  And When?

Jack V. Smith
Please use plain text.
Info Seeker
19krake66

Will we ever see an increase in our Social Secuirty again to help the rising cost of living.

Darlene Krake
Please use plain text.
Info Seeker
bstjohn

I read an article that medicare premiums will go up quite a bit for 2012 and to right around $245.00 by 2013 is this true?  As we see no cost of living raise in the last 3 years it must be obvious to SS if they are raising our premiums that all things cost more.