The House Bill Would Mean a Tax Hike for Millions of Seniors. Learn More

Highlighted
Gold Conversationalist

Re: Structure in Our Retirement Lives

Message 1 of 26 (1,114 Views)

@celammers, "...you need either a husband or a job"...

Being the oldest of 7 siblings (5 of which I was a surrogate parent), my structure has been being married to my family (instead of having à husband).  When I retired from the work world over two years ago, I also had to come to the realization that my siblings--all in their late 40s and early 50s with growing families of their own, didn't need me the same way anymore.  It was tough not being needed the way I was used to being needed by MyLoves.

My  "structure" was comprmised.  To be blunt: I needed to create a life for myself that didn't revolve around my family and career.  It's been a huge learning curve and I'm still learning.  I've always been an excellent student!  The same insights used to take care of MyLoves are now used to take care of me.  

My current retirement lifestyle  life structure is ever evolving but the basics never change: respect my and other people's time, don't overcommit, and embrace being flexible.

Fey Lady
Conversationalist

Message 2 of 26 (3,323 Views)