AARP’s New Video Explains the Perils of the Health Care Bill in Storybook Fashion. Watch Here

Info Seeker

Re: Do you wear green on St. Patricks Day?

Message 31 of 46 (975 Views)

No, I am wearing ORANGE!  My ancestors came to this country from Northern Ireland and were staunch Presbyterians. It is the same for both my parents' families.  Originally from Essex and York in England, they fled to Norther Ireland during the reign of "Bloody" Mary Tudor.  It is all in good fun and after all, St. Patrick was a Romano-Brit!

Info Seeker

Message 32 of 46 (905 Views)
Yes, I wear green. This was my husbands Birthday, so I will always wear green on this day for him.
Conversationalist

Message 33 of 46 (942 Views)

My Mom used to descibe her Mom as saying (when she was asked about her ethnic heritage) that she was as 'Irish as Patty's Pig'. And, I am Scots-Irish on my Dad's side. Plus, I graduated from Notre Dame. I mean, duh ... do I really have a choice?! Erin go braugh!

Highlighted
Topics: 51
Kudos: 1,586

Message 34 of 46 (843 Views)

rbelaski wrote:

Being that my birthday falls on this day, I have always worn green.  My mom would always buy me an outfit with green in it and I would find it hanging in my room when I woke up.  Miss those days.

@rbelaski  Well, congratulations on your birthday and on your first post to the AARP Discussion Community!  I will be putting on my green in a few minutes before I go out to run some errands!  ☘️☘️☘️

saint patricks day Pot of Gold Rainbow 1 clip art

"Never succumb to the temptation of bitterness." ~ Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Info Seeker

Message 35 of 46 (861 Views)

Being that my birthday falls on this day, I have always worn green.  My mom would always buy me an outfit with green in it and I would find it hanging in my room when I woke up.  Miss those days.

Topics: 1,076
Kudos: 11,839

Message 36 of 46 (923 Views)