Join AARP in Celebration of Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month. Nominate Someone for the AAPI Hero Award

Highlighted
Valued Social Butterfly

Re: Alumni Involvement?

Message 1 of 8 (142 Views)

I've been to only one of my high school reunions and I think it was the 30th.  I remember when I heard about the first one held on the 10th anniversary.  As it happened I was a purchasing agent for our city hospital and a fellow graduate worked for a company who called on me and was also on the planning committee for the reunion.  He told me who was coming and the information they were giving.  None of the people I would have wanted to see were coming and it seemed most of the ones planning to attend were those who had gotten married right out of high school.  I was married, had a house and doing pretty well but didn't feel like I had much in common with those planning to attend.

By the time I heard about the 30th I was curious enough to attend.  I also heard that some of the people I'd actually known in high school were attending.  We were a class of over 400 and there was many in the class I didn't know.  It was interesting to see some of my classmates and I thought it funny that many people I had actually known failed to recognize me.  I changed a lot after high school, and for the better, I think.  A few people actually thought it was my husband, who was from Minnesota, who was their classmate.

By the time of our last reunion many of my classmates are on FB and I find that we still have very little in common.  

Treasured Social Butterfly

Message 2 of 8 (155 Views)