AARP Members Enjoy Exclusive Discounts on Travel, Dining and More. Join Today

Info Seeker

Re: You be the expert on health

Message 1 of 56

I had a friend in Juneau with similar problems. Fortunately she is a health expert by trade. Her advice: gentle exercises that loosen up the thoracic spine (chest) to improve blood flow. Nothing too strenuous. Eliminate high glycemic carbohydrates. But when you absolutely must eat sweets ( let’s be real) eat some fiber just before. (Such as an apple) To reduce the inflammation she found that 100 mg of grape seed extract worked wonders. A word of caution when purchasing vitamins online: never buy from Amazon. Buy direct from manufacturer. There is a book that rates vitamin companies to help choose. Good luck 

Report Inappropriate Content
Info Seeker

Message 2 of 56

Thanks for the Kudos. Each day is a journey to better health for me. I live in Alaska, so there is limited sunshine here. It's summer here and for the first time in my 6 years here, it feels like fall~~fall with high pollen alerts. I also have COPD; allergies so I stay in when it's like this. It's 48 and feels like 46. Has been raining since last Tuesday.  So I walk the halls of my apartment, if I feel up to it just to get movement going. I go to the Gym twice a week. I'm determined to not take insulin. I'm 65 years young , and still moving forward. I just graduated college for Healthcare Administration May 1st.  Not ready to sit in a rocking chair yet!   ;-)

Peace and Blessings
Treasured Social Butterfly

Message 3 of 56

@dw17543009 - Welcome to "Online Community"! I gave up dairy about 8 months ago, as well as breads/grains, and sweeteners. Maybe I'll have plain yogurt once every 2 or 3 weeks, and coffee w/cream that infrequently as well.

Registered on Online Community since 2007!
Info Seeker

Message 4 of 56