The House Bill Would Mean a Tax Hike for Millions of Seniors. Learn More

Info Seeker

Re: Excerise

Message 1 of 18 (1,960 Views)
I am new to AARP and in WA state.
Info Seeker

Message 2 of 18 (3,079 Views)

Hi there.  Have you tried Vibram barefoot running shoes?  I hated running, but bought a pair when I was 60 and have been running for 5 years!  My husband used to have miserable feet and used custom orthotics to ease some of the pain.  Now that he's using barefoot toe shoes, his feet have become strong; he has no pain and never uses orthotics - even pulls the insoles out of all his business shoes now.  We use toe shoes for running and everywhere but work.  They changed our lives.  Good luck to you!  I know how much better one feels when exercising regularly.

Thanks and good luck.

Sue

Frequent Social Butterfly

Message 3 of 18 (3,361 Views)

Mstretch, I like your style !  What a unique way to get the house cleaned ................  Woman LOL

Sandee2
Info Seeker

Message 4 of 18 (3,465 Views)

In September, 2015 I started taking 2ea Fish oil tablets & 2ea Glucosamine Chondrotin tablets a day and started a walking program. I now am able to walk 3 miles in under one hour. I'm planning on walking a 10 Km  in Oct, 2016.

Info Seeker

Message 5 of 18 (3,501 Views)

Most gyms today have 'Senior' classes.  If you have Medicare suplamental insurance chances are that insurance will pay for you to go to the gym.  If not, it is probably about $25 to $40 a month.  The good thing is the instructor will very the routine so you won't get bored and you will get cardio and strength training.  Also, you meet new people.  Sometimes my class will get together to see a movie or take a tour of a nearby historical location.  And don't think people are judging you.  I used to feel that way (and several people have told me they felt the same) until I realized that everyone is too concerned about themselves and don't have time to worry about you.  Good Luck! and have fun.  KD