Tell Congress to Oppose Any Tax Bill That Would Increase Taxes for Seniors! Take Action Now

Bronze Conversationalist

Re: Do you think your BMI is accurate? Is your weight healthy?

Message 1 of 22 (901 Views)

Forgive me for I am no health care professional and I don't know what the CD site is.  However, many years ago I studied BMI and the M stands for mass.  The only ways to measure mass in an accurate way with regards to your body is with an electrical current to measure the resistance through your body and by placing you in a tank of water and being fully submerged to measure the amount of water you actually displace.  Without those more accurate measures BMI is just a rough guesstimate and should be taken as such.  I've seen the charts in doctors' offices and all they measure is height and weight.  I'm sure the original intent was as a gauge to see if further testing was necessary, but somehow it seems the medical profession is gradually leaning more toward the money and away from actual health care.  

Super Social Butterfly

Message 2 of 22 (1,416 Views)

My BMI has flopped off the charts!  🍺🍕🍔🌭🍦🍩🍹

Info Seeker

Message 3 of 22 (1,635 Views)

My chiropractor told me years ago that the most accurate way to measure body-mass index is by using calipers on certain body parts when the person is standing in water.  I don't see why a simple equation between height and weight means one is getting a proper BMI measurement.  I know many fit people who, because of muscle development, weigh more than they look, since muscle is heavy and fat is very light. This would seem to me to effect a simplistic body-mass index measurement (as inaccurate).

Gold Conversationalist

Message 4 of 22 (1,637 Views)